The Board of Trustees will exercise its statutory authority to assure that James A. Rhodes State College fulfills its mission by serving as the area’s primary provider of regionally responsive and globally current technical training, education, and consulting. Furthermore, the Board will provide visionary leadership and governance in maintaining the values of lifelong learning and professional growth and development as the guiding principles of the College.

The legal authority for James A. Rhodes State College resides in its Board of Trustees. The board is composed of seven* Allen County residents, five of whom are appointed to the board by a caucus of the city, county, and exempted village boards of education of Allen County, and two are appointed by the Governor. Full terms of appointment are for three years. The Board of Trustees of James A. Rhodes State College has legal, statutory, and fiduciary authority and responsibility for the college as defined in Chapter 3357 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Board of Trustees 

Everett "Butch" Kirk III, Chair

Mr. Kirk was appointed to the Rhodes State College Board of Trustees in 2009. In 2023, he was elected as Board Chair. He and his grandfather, Everett S. Kirk, Sr. founded the International Tank Service, Inc., in 1977. As President, he focuses on developing new business and marketing. Mr. Kirk grew up in the Lima area and graduated from Bowling Green State University with a B.S. in Business Administration. He serves as Vice Chair for the Lima Community Foundation and a Board of Trustee on the John Keller Foundation. Mr. Kirk also is actively involved with the John Keller Foundation in the City of Lima and the Lima Shawnee Alumni Legacy Scholarship Fund. In addition, he serves as Trustee and liaison to the Foundation Board of the College.

Ann Pohl, DNP, RN, Vice Chair

ann-pohl.jpg Dr. Ann Pohl was appointed to the Board in 2022. She brings 20+ years of progressive leadership and diverse experience with strategic planning. Dr. Pohl has spent the past 11 years serving as the Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at Lima Memorial Health Center, where she provides operational and strategic leadership to several departments. Her community involvement includes serving on the board for the American Heart Association of Allen County and the Northwest Ohio Literacy Council, acting as a member of the Sigma Theta Tau (Zeta Theta Chapter), serving as a Cardiac Care Associate to the American College of Cardiology, and much more. Prior to serving on the Board for Rhodes State, Dr. Pohl was a member of the College’s Foundation Board. 

Sam Bassitt

Former Allen County Commissioner, Sam Bassitt was appointed by Governor Kasich in 2013. Mr. Bassitt served as the College’s first Vice President of Academic Affairs. He was elected six times as a Bath Twp. Trustee serving over 20 years. Prior to his term as county commissioner, he was Director of College Tech Prep for the West Central Ohio Tech Prep Consortium housed at Rhodes State College. Mr. Bassitt received his bachelor’s degree from Ohio Northern University, Master of Arts degree at The Ohio State University, and has done graduate study at several other institutions. He has been involved in a number of local public service initiatives including Ottawa River Coalition, Allen County Healthy People 2000 and 2010, Allen County Health Advisory Council and Cheryl Allen Southside Center.

Jessica Cunningham

Appointed to the Board in 2023, Jessica Cunningham has over 10 years of progressive leadership experience in the nursing profession and experience in policy and protocol development. She is the Director of the Patient Access Center, Intensive Care Unit and Support Services for the Lima Memorial Health System. Ms. Cunningham has led several quality improvement initiatives, developed and implemented cardiac programs, and implemented initiatives to enhance patient experience. She had held leadership oversight of seven cardiology medical directorships, including contract negotiations. Her Associate of Science in Nursing Degree is from Rhodes State College. Ms. Cunningham continued on to receive a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Chamberlain University, and a Masters in Nursing, Organizational Leadership from Western Governors University.

Wilfred J.G. Ellis, M.D.

Dr. Wilfred J.G. Ellis has served on the Board since 1996. He is the CEO of Infectious Diseases, Inc., Chair of Infection Control, Medical Director of the Wound Care Center at Lima Memorial Health Systems and Medical Director of Superior Home Healthcare, LLC. Dr. Ellis received his Doctor of Medicine degree from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri and his Bachelor and Master of Science degrees in Biology from the University of Dayton. He supports the mission of the College through the Dr. Wilfred Ellis Multicultural Scholarship. In 2007, Dr. Ellis was inducted into the Hall of Honor at Archbishop Carroll High School in Washington D.C. and was awarded the Minority Businessman of the Year by the Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce in 2006. Dr. Ellis served as Board Chair from 2007-2019. 

Jane Krites

Ms. Krites was appointed to the Board in 2009 and served as Chair from 2021-2023. She holds an associate degree in Nursing from Lima Technical College, and both a bachelor of science in Business and master of Business and Organizational Leadership from Defiance College. For 20 years, Ms. Krites served as a nurse at St. Rita’s Medical Center, and for 24 years as CEO of the Girl Scouts of Appleseed Ridge, and Executive Vice President of the Girl Scouts of Western Ohio. She volunteered with the United Way of Greater Lima and the Auglaize County and the Handley House. She also served on the St. Rita’s Medical Center board of directors, and since 2005 has been a member of the Rhodes State Foundation Board, serving as Vice Chair, Interim Chair and Chair. Ms. Krites has been the recipient of the Athena Award and Allen County Visionary Award. Currently, she is operating Krites Consulting focused on strategic planning.

Robert Sielschott

Robert Sielschott was appointed to the Board in 2023. Sielschott is president and founding partner of Sielschott, Walsh, Keifer, Regula & Sherer CPA’s of Lima, Ohio. He is a certified public accountant, certified valuation analyst, holds certification in financial forensics, and has over 30 years of leadership and forensic accounting experience. Sielschott received his BA in Accounting and Business Administration from Bluffton College; completed graduate courses at Ashland College in business law, marketing and management; and completed professional education courses from the Institute of Business Appraisers, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and the National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts.


President's Cabinet


Brendan Greaney

Vice President, Enrollment Management


Antoinette Baldin

Vice President, Division of Workforce Development and Community Programming

Kevin Reeks

Vice President, Institutional Advancement

Nanette Smith

Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness Planning


Andrea Goings

Vice President, Human Resources/Title IX Coordinator


Melissa Green

Special Assistant to the President


L. Renee Bradley

Special Assistant to the President