The Outstanding Alumni Award has been presented annually since 1988 to an alum of Rhodes State College or Lima Technical College who has distinguished him/herself both professionally and through community service activities. These accomplishments may emphasize professional, social or educational values. Past recipients represent a wide variety of area citizenship, leadership and professional excellence.

The 2022 Rhodes State College Outstanding Alumni Award recipient was Dr. Ann Marie J. Pohl

Associate of Applied Science - Respiratory Care, 1987 & Associate of Applied Science - Nursing, 1995

Dr. Ann Pohl has dedicated her career to the service of our community through her career in healthcare at Lima Memorial Health System (LMHS) and volunteerism in the community and at Rhodes State College. Beginning in 1988 as a Staff Respiratory Therapist, Dr. Pohl has now become the Vice President of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Executive at LMH.

After earning two degrees, with honors, from Lima Technical College (LTC) in Respiratory Care – 1989 and Nursing – 1995, Dr. Pohl went on to attain her bachelor’s degree in Nursing from Bowling Green State University in 1997, her master’s degree in Nursing with a Leadership Focus from Drexel University in 2010, and her Doctor of Nursing Practice – Executive Leadership from Quinnipiac University in 2017.

Dr. Pohl’s commitment to Rhodes State College has continued since her time spent on the campus as a student. Since 2018, she has been a Board Member of the Rhodes State College Foundation, helping to support the Rhodes State student experience by leading in partnership cultivation for scholarships, programs and capital projects. In 2022, Dr. Pohl was appointed by a caucus of the city, county, and exempted village boards of education of Allen County to serve on the Rhodes State College Board of Trustees to provide visionary leadership and governance in maintaining the values of lifelong learning and professional growth and development as the guiding principles of the College.

Not only has Dr. Pohl served in healthcare and at Rhodes State College, but she has also been an impactful leader among many community organizations. She has served as a Board Member for the American Heart Association-Allen County, the Northwest Ohio Literacy Council, and the American Academy of Cardiovascular Medical Administrators.  She has been an Associate of the American College of Cardiology Cardiac Care, a Professional Member of the American Heart Association, and a member of Sigma Theta Tau (Zeta Theta Chapter. Currently, Dr. Pohl currently serves as a member of the American Organization of Nurse Leaders, the American Nurses Association, the Ohio Organization of Nurse Leaders, and the Ohio Nurses Association.

Upon her nomination for the Outstanding Alumni Award, Dr. Pohl reflected, “I was the recipient of an act of kindness from a community who supported me and helped to set me up for a successful career.” She continued, “If somehow, I can do something in kind for someone else’s future, inspire someone to continue lifelong learning, give someone the nudge that there’s help to start a new career….perhaps, in turn, down the road, that person will do the same. You can’t pay back an institution for the feeling of belonging and confidence they provided – you pay it forward. I am fortunate to be in a position to help lift others up and give back.”

Of her time at Lima Technical College/Rhodes State College, Dr. Pohl says, “The experience and time that I spent at LTC provided me with a strong foundation for my healthcare career, it was the knowledge that I received and the experiences that I had while at LTC that have truly helped to shape me into the healthcare professional that I have become. I had instructors and professors that provided a personal touch and feeling of caring that they wanted me to succeed. This established a confidence within me that I could do more, I could be more. Today, I proudly serve as the Chief Nurse Executive at Lima Memorial Health System and have continued my lifelong learning journey. That lifelong learning concept was instilled in me during my time at LTC.”

Outstanding Alumni Archive

Award Year Alum Degree Graduation Year
1988 Kay Rodabaugh Parent* Nursing 1982
1989 Cynthia C. Unverferth Office Secretarial 1987
1990 Marlin R. Kirkendall Law Enforcement 1973
1991 Annabelle “Katie” Allen* Nursing 1976
1992 Jerry D. Good Accounting 1976
1993 Gregory E. Phipps Electrical Engineering 1983
1994 Lori L. Reidenbach Law Enforcement/Corrections 1984
1995 Angie Dupes Clark Business 1989
1996 David K. Holbrook Law Enforcement 1991
1997 Connie M. Dershem Human Services 1994
1998 Gary Wurst Computer Programming 1993
1999 Donna M. Dickman Human Services 1994
2000 Jerry D. McGlothen Respiratory Care 1982 & 1992
2001 Cathy L. Patton, RN, MSN Nursing 1977
2002 Mary Kay Koch Verhoff Radiology Technology 1978
2003 Christine N. Nathe, RDH, MS Dental Hygiene 1986
2004 Anthony R. Iriti Accounting 1978
2005 Terry L. White, Ph. D. Law Enforcement 1974
2006 David L. Ditto Quality Engineering 2004
2007 Twyla Duprey Rose Secretarial Science 1978
2008 Chris D. Bolen Electrical Engineering 1984
2009 John E. White Computer Programming 1979
2010 Matthias J. Kaplanow Retail Marketing Management 1988
2011 Ann M. Deerhake, RN, MSN Nursing 1991
2012 Douglass S. Degen Mechanical Engineering 1987
2013 Joseph L. Kitchen EMS, ATS Fire Science 2012
2014 Marilyn F. Cipollone Human Services 1994
2015 Timothy M. Mosher,CNP EMS, Nursing 1982, 1984
2016 Jane P. Krites Nursing 1987
2017 Mary L. Marker Respiratory Care 1980
2018 Roni L. Height Accounting 1977
2019 Cathy L. Kohli Law Enforcement 1987
2020 Rachael S. Gilroy Paralegal/Legal Assisting 1994
2021 Benjamin B. Stobbe Nursing 1987
2022 Dr. Ann Marie J. Pohl Respiratory Care, Nursing 1987, 1995