Outstanding Alumni

The Outstanding Alumni Award has been presented annually since 1988 to an alum of Rhodes State College or Lima Technical College who has distinguished him/herself both professionally and through community service activities. These accomplishments may emphasize professional, social or educational values. Past recipients represent a wide variety of area citizenship, leadership and professional excellence.

Rhodes State Honors Distinguished Alumna

The 2016 Rhodes State College Outstanding Alumni Award recipient is Jane P. Krites.  She is a 1987 graduate of the Nursing Program and holds a BS in Business Administration and a MBA from Defiance College.

Krites served as a nurse for 20 years with St. Rita's Health Partners and held leadership positions with Girl Scouts for 24 years.  As CEO of the Appleseed Ridge Girl Scouts, she played a key role in merging four Girl Scout councils into the new Girl Scouts of Western Ohio, the fifth largest council in the U.S., serving nearly 50,000 girls. From 2008 to 2012, she served as the Executive Vice President of this new organization.

Currently, Krites serves on the Rhodes State College Board of Trustees and the Rhodes State College Foundation Board. She volunteers for the United Way of Greater Lima, St. Charles Catholic Church and previously served on the St. Rita's Medical Center Board. She is also the recipient of the 2002 Athena Award and the 2011 Allen County Visionaries Citizen of the Year Award.

Past Outstanding Alumni Recipients


Outstanding Alumni
Award YearAlumDegreeGraduation Year
1988 Kay Rodabaugh Parent* Nursing 1982
1989 Cynthia Unverferth Office Secretarial 1987
1990 Marlin R. Kirkendall Law Enforcement 1973
1991 Annabelle “Katie” Allen* Nursing 1976
1992 Jerry Dean Good Accounting 1976
1993 Gregory E. Phipps Electrical Engineering 1983
1994 Lori L. Reidenbach Law Enforcement/Corrections 1984
1995 Angie J. (Dupes) Clark Business 1989
1996 Daniel K. Holbrook Law Enforcement 1991
1996 David K. Holbrook Law Enforcement 1991
1997 Connie M. Dershem Human Services 1994
1998 Gary Wurst Computer Programming 1993
1999 Donna M. Dickman Human Services 1994
2000 Jerry D. McGlothen Respiratory Care 1982 & 1992
2001 Cathy Patton, RN, MSN CPHQ, CCCM Nursing 1977
2002 Mary Kay Koch Verhoff Radiology Technology 1978
2003 Christine N. Nathe, RDH, MS Dental Hygiene 1986
2004 Anthony R. Iriti Accounting 1978
2005 Terry L. White, Ph. D. Law Enforcement 1974
2006 David L. Ditto Quality Engineering 2004
2007 Twyla (Duprey) Rose Secretarial Science 1978
2008 Chris D. Bolen Electrical Engineering 1984
2009 John E. White Computer Programming 1979
2010 Matthias J. Kaplanow Retail Marketing Management 1988
2011 Ann M. Deerhake, RN, BSN, MSN Nursing 1991
2012 Douglass S. Degen Mechanical Engineering 1987
2013 Joseph Kitchen Emergency Medical Services & Technical Studies/Fire Science  2012
2014 Marilyn Cipollone Human Services     1994
2015 Tim Mosher Paramedic, Nursing 1982,1984
2016 Jane P. Krites  Nursing 1987