Coronavirus Update

All college departments are operational. Click the Reopening the Physical Campus Slider below for more information.

Choose Ohio First

The Choose Ohio First Scholarship is designed to significantly strengthen Ohio’s competitiveness within science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine (STEMM) disciplines and STEMM education.

Click here for Choose Ohio First flyer

Scholarship Requirements

As part of the state’s Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program, Rhodes State College will offer full and partial-tuition scholarships to students pursuing majors in STEMM fields. These scholarships are designated to defray tuition costs not covered by other scholarships and/or financial aid.

Want to learn more? Click here to contact our Admissions Office.

Fill out Scholarship Application

Apply to Rhodes Now

Award Amounts:

All Qualifying Majors: At least $1,500 per year, but based on student's need

Eligibility

  • Declare a qualifying major in a Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics or Medicine (STEMM):
    • Digital Media Technology
    • Electronics Engineering Technology
    • Manufacturing Engineering Technology
    • Mechanical Engineering Technology
    • Network Security
    • Medical Assisting Technology
    • Occupational Therapy Assistant
    • Respiratory Care Technology
    • Web/Computer Programming Technology
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and be a resident of Ohio
  • Maintain at least part-time status (6 credit hours) at Rhodes State College
  • Have a cumulative high school/college GPA of at least 3.0
  • A composite ACT score of at least 21 or placement test scores that show college ready status
  • Complete the FAFSA
  • Submit the online Choose Ohio First Scholarship Application and all requirements/ attachments
  • Submit a completed Rhodes State admissions application with $25 application fee
  • Complete a COF essay titled, “Why I am interested in a STEMM discipline”
  • Complete any required Accuplacer testing or submit ACT scores

Questions? Please Contact:

Chad Teman, Director of Admissions

Teman.C@RhodesState.edu

Student Responsibilities:

In addition to grade point requirements, students must agree to participate in the following to continue their status as COF Scholars:

  • COF New Student Orientation
  • COF Section of SDE 1010
  • Regular Interaction with Faculty Mentor
  • Presentation of work at RSC COF Showcase
  • Career Development Activities
  • COF Scholar Virtual Meetings each semester

Meet Your Faculty Mentors

Faculty Mentors work with Choose Ohio First Scholars on research or a project that reinforces their program of study.

Digital Media Technology, Network Security, Web/Computer Programming Technology
Mike Eilerman, Eilerman.M@RhodesState.edu

Electronics Engineering Technology, Manufacturing Engineering Technology, & Mechanical Engineering Technology
Ron Leonard, Leonard.R@RhodesState.edu
Ahmad Mehmood, Mehmood.A@RhodesState.edu
Erik Robey, Robey.E@RhodesState.edu

Medical Assisting Technology
Cheryl Kuck, Kuck.C@RhodesState.edu

Occupational Therapy Assistant
Ann Best, Best.A@RhodesState.edu

Respiratory Care Technology
Pam Halfhill, Halfhill.P@RhodesState.edu
Megan Zoladz, Zoladz.M@RhodesState.edu